Day 11 – Zombie state

I am literally living in a Zombie state since last 2-3 weeks. The reasons are plenty.

  1. Sleepless nights
  2. Acid reflux
  3. Trip to bathroom every 5 minutes
  4. Terrible Itchiness
  5. Hungry in the middle of night

All the reasons are inter-related. When I go to bed I get acid-reflux, even if I have eaten my dinner 3 hours ago. It burns my throat horribly. I sip on some water. The reflux goes down. I then try to sleep on couple of pillows to keep my head elevated so that the reflux doesn’t comes up again but it does!! Again I sip some water.

Now that I am drinking water every 2 minutes to settle down the reflux, I go to the bathroom also, every 2 minutes. I come back from bathroom, drink water and again go back to the bathroom. This cycle just goes on and on. I try to go to sleep, ignoring the urge to go to the loo but as soon as I make myself comfortable on bed I feel pressure on my bladder. Why? Because baby has started kicking on my bladder, sometimes on my cervix!! Yesterday on ultrasound we saw the baby, he/she was doing handstand!! Literally, the doctor said babies hands are down and head up!! Tell me how I will not run to the bathroom every 2 minutes when he/she is dancing on my bladder!! 🙂

Then, after all this exercise for couple of hours, I feel so tired, I start feeling sleepy. I sleep for maybe an hour or so and then around 3.00 PM I wake up again because of hunger. I go to the kitchen, eat some oats or leftover dinner or drink some milk, come back to the room. Again bathroom trip and before I go back to sleep I start feeling itchy. Terribly itchy on my hands & legs. Doctor & my blood results are saying I have Obstetric Cholestasis and hence this itchiness. Will have to start medication soon.

I apply calamine lotion on my body to calm down the itchiness and then try to go to sleep again. Before I even go into deep sleep, its time to wake up to get ready for work.

And this is why I am in Zombie state literally whole day!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Day 11 – Zombie state

  1. amitasingh10 says:

    Hi TP

    They will probably put you on medication for cholestasis. I had that and my doctor induced at 40 weeks. She said she would not prefer to wait due to cholestasis. Whenever I had acid reflux, I would have a sip of 7-Up or so.

    I may be the 100th person saying this but enjoy ur time. This is a golden phase dear. The 4th trimester ( Baby age 0-3 months) is the one which will test your limit.

  2. sahasra says:

    Ohho TP, When are you getting time to sleep with all these cycles going on. It must be so tiring.
    I hope all is well with PK now. Take care dear.

  3. Deboshree says:

    Please take care. The zombie state doesn’t sound much fun. 🙂

  4. Jennifer says:

    Hi TP my mom takes kacchi lassi in case of acid reflux you can mix 5 sips of milk and then 5 sips of water in cold milk and have it 4-5 times in a day it will help you i dont kno if this is common in pregnancy phase but even i do it and get relieved.

  5. PoojaV says:

    TP Try it with flat ginger ale. It worked for me too 🙂

  6. seema3 says:

    OMG–the itch…started in my 36th week…horrible…it was so bad..hope u feel better soon

  7. My Era says:

    {{Hugs dear}}.
    Zombie state sounds pretty painful & exhausting.
    Sending lots of love and positive vibes for you & the little angel.

Have something to say?? :-)

