What’s my name???

..what’s my name??? My name is Sheela.. Sheela ki…

oops!!Β  sorry.. sorry got side tracked..

No.. This post is not about any Bollywood song πŸ™‚

No.. This post is also not about if we girls should change our name/surname/middle name after marriage or not?? Please keep this discussion aside while reading this post please. Also, please note this is very confusing post to read.

So.. it all started 3 years back when I started working here in Sydney. When I joined my company I gave them my after marriage name that is PK’s surname with my original name. Reason – I don’t know, I did not thought about it too much, I also think I was not mature enough to think seriously about this πŸ˜‰Β  I did not have any idea that this will start such a big trouble which I am still not able to sort out.

First problem – The biggest problem I faced is in my office, my manager was confused what my actual name is!! Manager had my maiden name in the system for payslips and all that because my passport was legal identity & it had my maiden name on it but I had new name in my office email signature. sooo confusing!!! Ufff!!!!

Second problem – I wanted my photo ID here in Sydney because my passport had maiden name they gave me maiden name photo ID only & not with the new name. Now while buying house, we had to submit lot of paperwork, I found most of my identity documents under maiden name so the house is under my maiden name now & not under my new name. (which I am very happy & proud of ;-))

Third problem – To solve all the problems, I took the decision of changing my name on passport as by changing name on passport as I can use it as primary legal identity document and with its help I can change all other documents such as ID photo card, medicare card etc.

Fourth problem – Now, that I have changed my name on my passport, I went to change the name on my photo card which is my identity here in Australia but these people are saying they cannot change the name on my photo card just by looking at old passport & new passport. I have to go to birth, deaths & marriages office to get the certificate first which is worth 150$ & then only I will be able to change my name on my photo ID.

Fifth problem – I thought leave everything, let me apply for my license under my new name as per my new passport. But again these people said because my photo ID is under my maiden name my license can be issued under my maiden name only!! So.. I cannot get license unless I pay those 150 bucks, get certificate, change name on Photo ID and then apply for freaki8ng learner’s license!!

Confused??? Yes I know you are, imagine how much confused I must be!! I feel like pulling my hair & scream β€œWhat is my bloody name??? Can somebody please tell me???”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What’s my name???

  1. Jazz says:

    πŸ˜€ Yea TP, these name/address changes are such a pain.. and unlike India, we can’t get it done somehow abroad too.. Maybe you can slowly change in each document so that no problems later..

  2. Pepper says:

    Not sure I understand how this post is not about changing your name. Not sure how this confusion is not a consequence of all that. Since you asked to keep that discussion aside, I will refrain from commenting.

    Hope you are able to sort it out πŸ™‚

    • Yes this confusion is consequence of changing the name, I said keep – “Whether a girl should change the name or not after marriage” discussion aside because its of no use right now as I have already jumped into changing my name πŸ™‚
      I think I was bit immature to even think about it seriously when all this started, I was just 22 years old & seriously I was just going with the flow doing what my Mum, my bhabhis have done after they got married…
      The documents, paperwork, visiting legal offices, Its so confusing & painful Pepper, really. Only because of this pain I feel that it would have been better if I would not have changed my name in the beginning..

  3. aarya says:

    arre baap re…some solid confusion this is…and now that you changed your passport, you are under two different names legally. I suggest go ahead, fill that form and be done with it once and for all.
    For me your ‘bloody’ name is Pinkie πŸ™‚

Have something to say?? :-)

