An evening with Greek parents

So last weekend, we were invited by our Greek parents for dinner at their place. PK & I just simply love their food. Although for me there are very few options but this time Greek Mummi cooked everything vegetarian specially for me. Thank you Mummi πŸ™‚

We loved the food. Mummi is bit old, and frankly I do feel bad when she invites us, I don’t want her to feel tired or to lot of cooking for us but she says she likes to do this for her kids. The love she showers on us, the way she takes our care, I cannot explain. I can just say that they love us unconditionally.

The hugs I get from Pappu (Greek Dad), the kisses PK gets from Mummi are just so precious. PK was saying his own Mum has never hugged him or kissed him as much Greek Mummi loves him. Same way I think, even though I am very close to my Dad, but I cannot hug him and sit on sofa and chat with him regarding properties and health and job and family.

After a long long time someone made me feel so special. Mummi cooked Yumista for me, which is veggies like tomato, capsicum, eggplants and potatoes stuffed with rice, cheese, pepper, salt & mint, baked in oven. It was so delicious. Mummi even packed a takeaway for us for next day. After dinner Pappu asked me in his Greek accent – “Now, my daughter, I would you like to eat ice-cream my style, okie???”

I did not wanted him to do that for me, I was feeling how can a grandfather’s age person serve me anything, I kept looking in PK’s eyes because he knows I don’t like to sit and eat when any older person is serving. But he told me in Hindi that Pappu will feel happy, say yes, it’s ok.

So, I said yes and I saw shine in Pappu’s eyes. He got up from sofa, happily but with difficulty because of his weight(he is very over weighed), went to the kitchen and bought bowl of ice-cream with apricots on it. I finished it all and I must say it was very nice and Pappu and Mummi were happy to see me enjoying the ice-cream, of course Pappu style πŸ™‚

We sat for hours with their old photographs, even the photographs when they first landed in Australia, when they were stepping on land from the boat they traveled in. And Oh my Gosh.. Mummi was looking so beautiful in each & every pic, her dressing style, her sandals, her bags were just awesome. Even if today some one wears that dresses, no one will say that they are 60 years old dresses. Just simply amazing. She was looking like young Prity Zinta with dimples πŸ™‚

Thanks a lot Mummi and Pappu for filling in space of our parents in this foreign country and giving us this much love. I and PK will always be grateful.

Leaving you with some pics πŸ™‚

Image

Yumista..

Image

Our lovely Mummi in the kitchen, where we chatted a lot πŸ™‚

Image

And on the table we have Yumista for everyone drizzled with Greek olive oil, Danish Fetta cheese, Boiled eggs, Tomato salad drizzled withΒ  olive oil of course and Greek yoghurt. Pappu is sitting in his big robe on his big chair, yep this is Pappu’s chair not sofa πŸ™‚

We are meeting with Mummi & Pappu again today, Mummi wants to see us before we leave for India πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to An evening with Greek parents

  1. chipmunk says:

    such a nice people they are!!! the world keeps going because of an awesome peoples as them!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    gr8 eh!! happy for both of you and much much happy for PK ji,
    Lines for you πŸ™‚ man your mom is a Greek lady πŸ™‚ never feel bad for ur Indian mum reactions πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ things must come with love and you have got a true love and affection in oz πŸ™‚

  2. Snow says:

    That’s so sweet of them.. It’s nice to have know such people in a foreign land.. This indicates that there are good people everywhere .. And when God wants to bless us he brings such people in our lives to make us aware that He exists everywhere πŸ™‚

  3. Smita says:

    You are indeed lucky to have such lovely people around you in a foreign country.

  4. Visha says:

    lucky you
    lovely set of parents πŸ™‚

  5. They are so adorable and sweet people..You are lucky to have one set of parents there πŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: Our new business, Greek parents & our weekends so far.. | tandooripanipurilife

  7. Pingback: Day 6 – Finally they answered our call.. | tandooripanipurilife

Have something to say?? :-)

