Out with the old….

So the day finally arrived when the in-laws had to leave. Whole day was very uncomfortable, we did not know what to talk with them. We reached Airport in same sad mood, not that we were sad because they were leaving but sad because PK & I wanted to depart with them in happy mood but the situation was so worse that we could not even say proper good bye to them. It was just when they were about to go to the customs department, MIL started crying. She cried a lot. We did not reacted too much. I was sad that they did not even asked me if I have to send any thing to my parents.. Anyways.. so when I touched her feet when she was going in, she hugged me & cried A LOT!! But I did not even had tear in my eye.. All feelings were gone, all emotions, all happiness, everything was gone with the fight last week.

But now that they are gone, we can feel relief, no stress at all, no fear of getting judged, no tension. I am really feeling relieved. PK & I have decided to think this is the new year’s start for us. We have started our new life with positive thinking, positive talking, positive vibes at home. No more negative thinking, happiness & positive thoughts only & of course love πŸ™‚

Achievement – I have done so much cooking in this last month that I will be takingΒ  Sanyaas from cooking for this month for sure πŸ˜‰ PK, get ready to turn into chef πŸ™‚

I think this is a big achievement for me..not that I did not use to cook before marriage but this was for the first time I was managing home, cooking for 5 people – lunch & dinner both everyday, going for work, going for grocery shopping, cleaning and along with all this being in a tourist mode constantly & taking the in-laws out..

Special mention for PK here because he really helped me a lot.. a lot means A LOT!!

Many days.. I cooked lunch for “all” in morning, then go to work, come back home & cook dinner for all..Here is the list of few things that I managed to cook for the in-laws..

  1. Koyla Khas-khas Chicken – (twice)
  2. Fish Fry
  3. Egg Curry
  4. Tandoori Chicken
  5. Paneer Butter Masala
  6. Corn Chaat
  7. Papdi Chaat
  8. Stuffed Omelets for breakfast with bread & hash browns
  9. Egg parathas
  10. Aloo tikki chaat
  11. Gajar ka hlawa
  12. Ras Malai – I made it from scratch.. really!!
  13. Daal-Baati
  14. Pizza on Lebenese bread
  15. Corn Palak Lollipops with cheese stuffed inside
  16. Pav-bhaji
  17. Pastas, garlic bread, Greek salad – twice
  18. Numerous types of Pulavs
  19. Indo-chinese : Noodles, Fried rice, Dry & with gravy Manchurian
  20. Tomato & corn soup
  21. Vadapav & Aloo-parathas & Paneer parathas..
  22. Our normal food like Bhindi, guvar, parwal, aloo-matar, raita & all were made on days when I did not cooked any of above..

We took them out as well where they tried new cuisines..

  1. Japanese SushiΒ  – they tried one with avocado & veggies & another with salmon & avocado.. FIL got tummy ache after eating it 😦
  2. Oporto burgers & Hungry Jacks burgers – Well these are just burgers but still new flavor & taste for them
  3. Guliyan Chocolate Cafe – I took them to this cafe when we were waiting for PK to return after parking our car in the city. They loved sipping hot chocolate in front of Opera house & Harbour bridge:)
  4. Thousand Spices – This is a nice Indian restaurant where we ordered Fish pakoras, Chicken Tikka, Pani puri (of course!!), Samosa Chaat, Veg Cutlets ONLY for Entree. For mains – Dal Makhani, Paneer tawa masala & chicken curry with rice & tandoori rotis. We were so full that we did not had any space for dessert!!
  5. Chutneys – This is again an Indian restaurant. That day was a weekday & we all were feeling like eating light so we all had south Indian Dosas, Vada Sambhar & Idli Sambhar with few cocktails & mocktails. yes this is light for us *please don’t roll eyes* PK was the odd one out here to order Chicken Biryani along with south Indian menu!!
  6. Krispy Kreme – This is an amazing place for Donut lovers. You can literally see heaps of donuts being prepared in their big machines while having your coffee & donuts. We tried jam filled Donut, Cinnamon Donut and the best of all Cookies & creme Donut.. Yumm!!!!
  7. Pancakes on the rocks – I love pancakes here, nice light & fluffy with ice-cream & chocolate sauce. Their Potato Au gratin is to die for.. yummerzzz!!
  8. And the desserts that we bought like Chocolate Mousse & Creme caramels and cakes and all are showing on the tummy now!!

We all went out every weekend, it’s like we visited each & every tourist attractions in Sydney during last month.

Let me take this moment to say a BIG Thank you to all of you who supported me with all the comments & hugs & love last month. January was bit difficult month for me but your support & this blog helped me a lot to keep myself sane.

So how was your weekend dearies?? πŸ™‚

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Out with the old….

  1. Happy times now :), have fun gal…

  2. Sonja says:

    Ode to TTPL! Rest well and keep rockin, lady!

  3. chipmunk says:

    arey on the food path, you have had a giant time and enjoyment πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ please show your blessings to me…… cooking this much, I am wondering :O :O will I be able to do this much , I doubt I can’t, the list itself making me to faint ,

  4. Sujatha says:

    oh.. GOD u cooked so many items?? donno how u managed to do all these !!!
    So.. happy times have cum for u.. take rest gal.. relax urself πŸ™‚

  5. Smita says:

    πŸ™‚ Good!!! Good!!!

    Some relationships (thanks to the people involved) are such that they are better off from a distance, I guess urs with ur In Laws is one such relationship πŸ™‚

    And this much cooking?? wow!!! Trust me ur MIL will come around, she is plain insecure, I guess she has seen so many financial hardships in life that the good life that u guys are leading is something that she wants for herself and thus is insecure…..I hope one day she will realise her mistakes πŸ™‚

    • πŸ™‚ Thank u!! Thank u!!

      true…

      I have seen friends, colleagues being insecure but parents?? I have never heard or seen this.. Do parents have to compete with own kids?? They should be happy for the achievements of kids no.. hope she understands we are her kids only & not competitors 😦

  6. Pooja V says:

    My first time here. You are a brave brave girl !! **HUGS*** !! I am going to be a regular here. can u plz mail/post the recipe of Koyla khas khas chicken ?

  7. Jazz says:

    I had written a comment but did not post it then and lost it.

    I can understand about the emotionless goodbye dear, I would have been the same. And I also agree with Smita’s comment above, she is very insecure but looks like she will realize soon.

    Anyway, you cooked all of that TP ?!!! Gosh, loved all the exotic stuff you mentioned. And also roamed a lot uh, they must have been happy, just not showing. You and TP did your best.

    And also relax and enjoy now. πŸ™‚

  8. Kalyani says:

    I envy your cooking skills πŸ™‚

  9. Glad to hear you and PK and having fun. Enjoy and relax.

    Its OK, just keep those bad memories and focus on the new beginnings.

    I am in awe with your cooking skills, you deserve a big pat πŸ™‚

  10. Visha says:

    I can imagine how difficult it must have been for you to cook so many dishes when you are tired, back from office and all you want is to rest. You are talented, I admire you πŸ™‚

    Fun times are back again dear, dont think about the past too much, just relax and enjoy now πŸ™‚

    • you know.. things I did to make the in-laws happy but all in vain 😦
      Thanks dear at least someone praised for all the efforts πŸ™‚

      Yes yes will relax for sure πŸ™‚ In fact PK is cooking dinner since 2 nights.. haasshhh….

  11. My Era says:

    That was hell too much cooking TPP. Being a cooking maniac myself, I still say it is too much cooking for people who have no good feelings let alone love for you.
    You deserve the break badly.
    Hugs dear

    • yeah.. true.. it is worth putting in efforts in cooking for the people who love us, whom we love.. but if cooking for people who are constantly judging you is more tiring yea..

      Need a break but don’t know when I will get one πŸ™‚
      Tight Hugs back πŸ™‚

Have something to say?? :-)

