Meri maa….

When I was 20, in my first year college, I got engaged & I left my studies in the middle. That engagement did not last & we broke up. (I am very happy that this happened with me, otherwise I would not have met PK J) I went back to my college to get the admission again, I was sent back home without admission. I was dis-heartened, totally lost, did not knew what is written in my fate next. I looked at my friends studying, going college, hearing everyone talking about my broken engagement, I would not go out to avoid everyoneโ€™s eyes looking at me & pinching me. After few days, one afternoon, my Mom came & woke me up, asked me to take her to another college. I was shocked. While taking out my vehicle, we saw black cat crossing our road. As you all know, in India this is superstitious that if black cat crosses your road, it is not good for you. I told my Mom not to go, but she forced. We went, I donโ€™t know what magic my Mom did, I did not even utter a word in college, I got admission in the middle of the year and was able to study further.

All Thanks to you, Mom ๐Ÿ™‚

***************************

Since no guy was ready to marry me as I had a tag of โ€œbroken engagementโ€ with me (LOL), I decided to find job, to pass my time after studies. I secretly applied for a role of a teacher in an International school, I did not inform her. When I got an interview call, at that time I told her that I was thinking to work. She came with me to the school, just to see the surroundings and all & then she spoke to my Dad & Grandpa about my wish to work. ย My grandpa did not liked it, my Dad told me that how much ever money I want he will give me double of that every month if I donโ€™t work. I did not listened to anyone, I started working after passing 3 rounds of interviews. My grandpa scolded me for a while, my Uncles said that all the customers who are coming to buy jewellery at our show-room are asking why do I need to work, when we have enough money?? My Dadโ€™s sister who lives in same city said people are talking about me working!!

It was only my Mom who supported me and let me work, not for money but to make me independent, my dad supported me but asked me not to use my salary. After few months people came at our show-room and praised me & told my Grandpa & Uncles that they have seen my picture in news papers & they would like to send their kids at home for tuitions. Three parents came at my home, donโ€™t know how they found address, they requested my Mom to ask me to take tuitions!! They were ready to pay fees from June even though kids tuition will start from December!! My dadโ€™s sister came to my Dad & told that her friendโ€™s daughter would like to get a job in the same school where I was teaching, will I be able to give her reference for job?

If Mom, you would not have supported me, would all this have happened??

********************************

Then, I got married & again my mentality was I will not be working after marriage. I will just sit at home, will go out in evenings as every lady at my home does. First year in Australia was very difficult for me. From 25 people to only 2 people in family that too PK went for his work. I was all alone whole day, no outings in evening in weekdays..no one to talk at home, not even kaamwali!! Cannot cry on phone while talking with Mom coz I have to show her I am happy & strong here. As soon as phone calls got over, I use to cry for hours & I know, my Mom also missed me a lot but she also never showed her weaker side to me. I use to stand in balcony & see the aeroplanes flying in sky, thinking – will this plane take me to my Mom??? I use to pray to please make me go to India soon.

After my first trip to India, I decided, I will have to start working here otherwise I could not come out of depression. I have to pass my time somehow. I must say, if I would not have got experience of working in International school in India, I would not have been able to work here. How would have I known what is the work culture like, how to work?? It is all because of my Mom..

**************************************

Along with my studies, she sent me to different classes starting from gift wrapping, salad making, desserts making, cooking mains & entrรฉe, beautician course along with fashion designing classes for 2 years. Even though I did not liked it at that time, all this is very helpful to me now.

Mom, I could do all this just because of you –

-When I did not knew where to go for getting threading done here, I was able to do it myself because you sent me to parlour class & made me practice on you in afternoons. getting ready without any salon appointment is possible for me just because of you, Mom..

-Doing my make-up or applying it on anyone else is easy for me because of you Mom..

-When I have to cook for crowd, I can prepare fancy 3 course meals for 25 people, just because you sent me to classes & taught me at home too how to work in kitchen.

-Preparing dinner & lunch for PK & I is like a 20 minutes game for me because you taught me how to cook quick & delicious meals.

-I can wrap up gifts in fancy & attractive way in minutes because you sent me to the classes..

-I designed all my dresses, walked ramp in my own designed outfit during finals of my fashion designing & stood second in entire college, all because of you Mom..

*************************************

She herself got married at 17 years of age, My dad being the eldest among 4 brothers & 4 sisters, my Mom looked after my Dadโ€™s siblings, sent them school, packed their tiffin, my dad made his brothers get settled in work after their studies, my Mom played a role of Mom to all of them as my Dadโ€™s Mum passed away just before a month of Mom-Dadโ€™s wedding. All my Unclesโ€™ wives call my Mom โ€“ โ€œMummiโ€ even though she is not their MIL!! I am glad & proud how she has kept whole family united.

I can keep writing for days about you Mom but words will never be enough. Today whatever I know, whatever I am, it is all because of you, I just wish whenever I will be a Mum, if I do 2% of what you have done for me, I will be an excellent Mom for my kids..

Love u Mom.. ๐Ÿ™‚

Haatho Ki Lakeere Badal Jaayegi..
Gam Ki Ye Janjeere Pighal Jaayegi..
Ho Khuda Pe Bhi Asar..
Tu Duaao Ka Hai.. Ghar..
Meri Maa Meri Maa Pyaari Maa..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Meri maa….

  1. greenboochi says:

    A very happy post tandooripanipurilife! Your mom must be really really proud of you!

    Loving your blog.. will come back again ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. chipmunk says:

    most of the courses you have underwent was not at all known to me, i mean the name itself is different, you are well shaped because of her, missing a mom like this is really a challenge for a heart. threading, one thing i am very afraid off ๐Ÿ˜ฆ still i haven’t trimmed my brows once ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ credit always to her ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Awww I have tears in my eyes as I type this..a very touching post..She is awesome, lot of love to you and her..Now I am missing my mom …

  4. sahasra says:

    A reallyyy nice post. We never realise the value of our mum and family untill we are thrown miles apart from home. We take them for granted. I truly admit that i realised my mamma’s value really late. And now, i would never throw a chance that makes her smile or that keeps her happy. Thanks to all the mammas of the world who made it beautiful. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. sjscribbles says:

    Wow such a touching post TPL – What would we have all done without our dear mummies…

    I’ve started missing my MOM after reading your post !

  6. Beautiful TPL….. I really know what you must be feeling asy ou type all those words…. May you always spend the best of times with her ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Tharani says:

    Such a lovely and heart felt post da.. Kudos to your mother…

  8. Jazz says:

    Wow dear that was very emotional. Really, your Mum has helped a lot, somehow everything is helping you now in life na, that’s great. Your Mum must be so happy to see you so successful too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. MaybornGemini says:

    Wow, is all I can say. She is a very practical lady your mom..Going against all the elders and well wishers in the family is not an easy task to take on.. Hats off to her…

  10. Visha says:

    Wow. Love you as well as your maa ๐Ÿ™‚

Have something to say?? :-)

