Magical memories – Our birthdays

My birthday after engagement

We got engaged in January 2009. PK & I both celebrate our birthdays in March. So, for my first (after engagement) birthday in March 2009, PK organized a surprise of room full of flowers for me along with few gifts like teddy, cake, earrings, pendant etc.Β  After every few hours, delivery guys come & deliver the fresh flower bouquets for me. Till evening my whole room was full with different colours of flowers & different fragrances. Everyone from family members to friends, who came to wish me, was just shocked & surprised to see my room. I was on cloud nine. Calling PK every time I receive a bouquet & finally asked him to stop it, my room does not have any other space. Two of those fresh flower bouquets were taken to living room. Last bouquet that arrived was in big heart shape, with red roses. My heart literally melted that day & I literally cried for a person, whom I have met just twice, just for few hours & it had been only 2 months of knowing him. πŸ™‚

Β PK’s birthday after engagement –

Then after few days, same month, it was PK’s birthday.Β  I had already planned what to send him a month ago. I did not even had idea of online booking of flowers or gifts, actually I did not even knew about it. I was just 22 years old, just imagine, I had no idea what to send & how to send anything that far. I ordered a big life-size wooden picture collage of PK & mine, with the pictures before our engagement, I bought a big life-size card for him & a T-shirt. The total weight of that collage was about 15 kg. When I brought that home, my family was worried if we will be able to send it or not!!

After lot of inquiries, I found out a courier which delivers to Australia. Courier guy came home to pick it up, I was worried if this can really be sent to PK. So, it was send but unfortunately, PK received it after 2 days of his birthday. MIL was so worried, she kept asking PK if I have sent any gift to him or not. When PK said no, she directly called me and asked β€œhave you send any gift for my son??” There is always something to write about MIL’s reaction on everything huh!! Anyways… So, PK was surprised to see such a big package arriving at his door steps. Β He liked the collage, it is still there with us in our bed-room. We both look so small, like kids in those pictures.

Β My birthday after wedding –

On my first birthday after our wedding, PK had planned a nice dinner & cake cutting there at the same restaurant, just for two of us. But things turn around to be different. We were invited by our friends for lunch. We ate there so much, the lunch was so heavy that we had to cancel the plan for dinner. PK was very sad because of this. He thought lunch will be over by 2.00pm but it was already 5.00pm in evening till we had lunch & then we were not at all hungry for dinner. So, PK & I both went to collect my birthday cake (lol) came back home, cut the cake & spoke to everyone at India. It was my first birthday alone, away from my family.

Β PK’s birthday after wedding –

Then, after few days it was PK’s birthday. I was new in Oz, I was really very shy, I was not working at that time so was not very familiar with Aussie travel modes, never been out at shops or anywhere alone without PK. PK had told me once that he has never-ever celebrated his birthday before. MIL said that as PK’s birthday is in end of the month, there wasn’t much money left to celebrate his birthday when he was a kid. Β So, I thought I will celebrate his birthday. I had to do something big & memorable for him. Β PK told me that he wants to just go out for dinner on his birthday, I said fine..but……

Here is what surprise I had planned for him :

Invitation: A week before his birthday, I sent the invitation to his 20 friends. When PK went to the bathroom in the morning to take shower, I quickly wrote down all his friends contact numbers from his mobile. When he went to the office, I called each & every one of them & invited them for party πŸ™‚

Decoration: Few days before his birthday, I called a friend to ask her if she will help me in going to the shopping mall for buying glasses for juice & decoration stuff a I did not knew where to go for all this stuff. She agreed. To meet her first, I had to catch the train, believe me it was very difficult for me. I had never travelled in train here. I somehow reached her place, asking questions to everyone to whom I met on the way, trying to understand what they are replying in their Aussie accent!!Β  So, I brought decoration ribbons, party poppers, 2 dozen glasses for juice & then we went to cyber cafe.. Yes, to the cyber cafe, to get PK’s pictures printed in colour in big size.

On his birthday : On his birthday morning, we woke up early. As I was going to the kitchen to prepare his lunch, PK surprised me by saying he will be coming home for lunch. Well… he use to come home for lunch some days but that day I did not want him to come home for lunch, since I had to cook dinner for 20 people & also do the decoration for party before he comes home after his work. I tried to tell him it is OK if he does not come, he was shocked and said β€œYou force me every day to come home for lunch, what happened today??”

So, all plans were changed. Decoration can only be done after he goes back to office after his lunch. I cooked our lunch first. Then, prepared Pav-Bhaji, Mix Veg Biryani and Gulab-Jamuns for the guests. All this from 9.00 am to 12.30 pm.

As soon as he rang to let me know that he is on his way, coming home for lunch, I took all the big pots of cooked dinner from kitchen to our bedroom & hide them under our bed & closed the bedroom door. I was still worried because whole house smelt of Pav-Bhaji & Biryani & sweet and there I heard the knock at our door, PK had reached home!!!

Second part will be up tomorrow.. very long story for PK’s birthday πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Magical memories – Our birthdays

  1. Jazz says:

    That was amazing TP, loved reading it a lot. May I say that I liked it even better than the ‘how you met’ series. πŸ˜›

    And the awesome surprise in the end is killing me. πŸ˜€

  2. Sujatha says:

    wow…
    PK’s birthday after wedding part is soooo intresting..
    and LOL on – There is always something to write about MIL’s reaction on everything huh!!

  3. chipmunk says:

    he he he πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ you r really smart eh πŸ™‚ to grab the numbers of his friends πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ SEcond why you hid every thing in bed room πŸ™‚ what if he uses the washroom πŸ™‚ thurrrr πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Pav-baji obviously make every one to die with its flavoiur πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Between Your man is super man, sending flowers every time is like awwwwwwwwww!!!!!! super cute in that way πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  4. Kalyani says:

    “it is OK if he does not come….” LOL

  5. Pingback: Magical Memories – Our birthdays (part 2) | tandooripanipurilife

  6. BIrthdays are fun at your place then ..

    right heading over to read about the surprise party and thinking how can He not smell the food .. and that too in the bedroom he he he

Have something to say?? :-)

