On kids, phone conversations & of course – Panipuri :)

I went to the coffee shop, near our office, as always, to buy my coffee. When they see me entering their cafe, they them self place in my order, they remember my name, my coffee choice, how much sugar I want & extra chocolate in my coffee too :)As I opened my clutch to pay for coffee, the girl saw PK & my picture in the clutch…

Girl : Oh wow.. show me, show me.. ย Is he your boyfriend??

Me : No, he is my husband.. this is about 2 years old picture

Girl : Oh Okay.. Is that an Indian dress you are wearing? itโ€™s called Sari yeah?

Me : yeah.. It is an Indian dress but not Saari, Saari is different one ๐Ÿ™‚

Girl : So, you are married!! Do you have kids??

Me : ummm.. No..

Girl : Oh!!! that is so sad…

Me : Oh.. no.. no.. I mean NOT YET..

Girl : Are you planning??

Me : *Thinking is she taking my interview in cafe* ehhh.. umm.. NOT YET

Girl : maybe next year???

Me : hehehe… Will see *Running away, acting I have to read the magazine*

****************************************************

A colleague of mine brought her 2 months old girl in a pram, to our office just to meet us as she is on maternity leave. We were all playing with kid, & trying to see her smile. There is a new guy sitting behind me, we rarely talk apart from Hi, hello as he has just joined. ย So, when everyone was still near the pram, this is the conversation between new guy & me –

Me : OMG.. she is sooo cute.. look at her small pink toes, her fingers, her nose.. she is looking like a soft marshmallow..

New guy : Do you like kids??

Me : Yeah.. Who doesnโ€™t like small kids & she is sooo sweetttt!!

NG : since how long you have you been married?

Me : (Understanding where he is trying to take the conversation to) 3 years….

NG : Oh.. 3 years.. Do you have kids?

Me : Not yet..

NG : Are you planning??

Me : huh??? NOT YET. *Running away to my desk thinking, Who is he to ask me, in front of everyone, if I am planning or not?? Will I tell you, yes, yes we are planning, you will get the good news in few days???*

BTW.. before you all ask, nothing on the plan yet.. have to dance my bum off in my sis’s wedding, maybe after that ๐Ÿ™‚

*************************************************************

Yesterday on phone with MIL…

MIL : I was just thinking about you all, I am making Gobi-Aloo…..

Me :ย  *To make her happy* ย I like Gobi-Aloo but more than me your both sons miss your hand cooked meals, they both miss your prepared Gobi-Aloo & Dal..

MIL : *started crying* I also miss cooking for them, even though it has been more than 10-12 years since PK has eaten my cooked meals but Momโ€™s cooked dishes are unforgettable, I know he still miss that food, he still remembers those flavors, no matter how delicious food he gets to eat now(she does not likes when PK & BIL tell her on phone about my cooked meals). Mom is always a mom, no matter what…

Me : yeah that is true.. Please cook anything you like for your boys here & fulfill all your & their wishes ๐Ÿ™‚

MIL : I will make them remember their childhood days again, they both will be so happy. I will cook this for PK & that for BIL & this for PK & this for BIL….

I started missing my Mom. What my Mom would have cooked for me, if she was coming here?? My sister sends me pics on whats app of what Mom has cooked today & how they all are sitting & eating their meals.. MIL said it right, a Mom is a Mom no matter what. Like MIL can only remember both her sonโ€™s while cooking for them, their choice of food, she did not remember if โ€œIโ€ am craving for anything cooked by her, likewise I also miss only my Mom, MIL cannot be my Mom what may happen, she will only be MIL!! Her expectations are different, behave as a daughter with her, in return she will behave as real MIL… anyways…

ย *****************************************************

So our friends moved to the apartment near to us. We helped them on Saturday & Sunday. Both their parents are coming from India to visit them. They said there wonโ€™t be any partiality between their parents, if they want to come, guyโ€™s parents will also come & girlโ€™s parents also, if not, no one will come. No set of parents will be given more importance than others,ย  I deliberately told this to my MIL on phone to let her know what other couples think here. Her reply was very obvious, she tried to ignore it because her thinking, in our case, is that “they” deserve to visit Oz first because their son came here first & because of him only, I am here.

In fact, she was scared that my parents will come here before them because my parents are financially stronger whereas in-laws have to depend on us for their visa & tickets. When I told my parents to visit us, they themself said let your in-laws visit you first, it wonโ€™t look good. They will feel bad.

My Momโ€™s reaction, when I told both our friendโ€™s parents are coming was โ€“ โ€œThatโ€™s great, you all kids have fun together & all in-laws can sit together & chat & have company rather than feeling lonelyโ€. Here, I was feeling bad that Mom might feel that all parents are visiting their kids, wish they were also able to see how their daughterโ€™s married life is ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

ย ***********************************************

No, we did not clean that pile of rubbish from our land, when we reached there, we saw a small pile was turned into big mountain of stones, rocks, dirt, bricks & rubbish. We might have to hire the excavation workers for cleaning who are going to charge us big amount ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

ย **************************************************

I made Panipuri yesterday, ate about 30 or 40 just by myself..Leaving you all with a picture of it.. sorry for quality, it is clicked from mobile.. Did you eat any on this weekend?? ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

photo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to On kids, phone conversations & of course – Panipuri :)

  1. Your blog is super real and super nice. I wish you the best of luck and a super happy life. I loved the how we met series. I look forward to more oz series. Roshni

  2. chipmunk says:

    when mill and pil goes your mama will come ๐Ÿ™‚ don’t worry ๐Ÿ™‚ you will have a gala lunch with them for sure:) ๐Ÿ™‚ People asking about kid is always weird ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ even my sister underwent the same feeling when she was planning ๐Ÿ™‚ pile of rubbish is very bad ๐Ÿ˜ฆ and can’t you ask the neighbour people to clean the things which they thrown away ๐Ÿ™‚

    Panipooori :O :O it came good TP ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ you can save dollars hereafter ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜‰ good on that case ๐Ÿ™‚ but breaking this poori to stuff the aloo will make your hand to go numb ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ I will gulp my poori today ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ Mom said eating lot will hurt my tummy ๐Ÿ™‚ so will eat once in a week : ) ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Arey.. we asked our neighbors.. they said oh it is not our rubbish even though we can see the bricks were from there house only!!
      We did not want to fight with them before even moving to our new place so we did not said anything ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      I don’t break the puri and stuff potatoes in it, it is PK’s job (lol)

      Tell your Mom, eating it your tummy ache will go away as it has mint leaves in it ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • chipmunk says:

        achooooo bad people ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ that’s right, why need to fight before moving, but leaving this kind of people is a bad idea ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Den you may eat as many as you can ๐Ÿ™‚ Mint part is okay ๐Ÿ™‚ but chilly part is what mama is afraid of ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      • Oh chilly… hmmm ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  3. Jazz says:

    Yes yes you have to dance on your sister’s wedding. And when is the good news coming.. ๐Ÿ˜›

    And very true about the Mom will be mom thing. I also tell Imran that though we might have our own silly fights or complaints with our parents, nobody can ever replace their places in our lives.

    You will not believe TP, my mouth is literally watering seeing the pic. Its been months I have had it, I think I’ll definitely get a puri packet from the Indian store next time. Have fun !! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. 3 years hmmm… ๐Ÿ™‚
    You love kids hmmm… ๐Ÿ™‚
    Panipuri is a perfect PLANNING… ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Yeah I wonder why don’t people mind their own business, now don’t think that once you have kid this will stop, the next time it will be when is second child. I was about to tell someone other day that “next time we do I will invite you, you can decide.”

    How can someone be so irresponsible dumping on others land.

    Panipuri looks delicious, and is that PK is the backdrop ?

Have something to say?? :-)

