Yet another “P” favourite & why TPPL

Let me share with you all why I named this blog as tandooripanipurilife. The reason is that PK loves loves loves tandoori food. Specially Non-Veg preparations like tandoori chicken, tandoori chicken tikka, kababsย  etc & tandoori roti & naans & paneer tikkas & kulchas in Veg preparations, hence Tandoori for PK ๐Ÿ™‚

I know, short and sweet description for tandoori, now go on and read why panipuri!!

Yes you are correct. One more โ€œPโ€ favourite on the list after my sweetypie PK, Pastas, Pizzas & ย Pulavs. ย I AM CRAZY FOR PANIPURI. Like if I donโ€™t eat it every week-end I will go crazy & then I will have to prepare it at home during week days so that I can satisfy my craving. When I was new here in Sydney PK took me to hundreds of restaurants here but restaurant Panipuri never satisfied me, I want laari waali panipuri, the unhygienic one, in those china plates, from the dirty guy who might not have taken bath (as people say, to make me stop eating) ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

A height of my craziness is that many times during my first year here, I use to crave it at 11.00pm at night. Why at night??ย  Because of the time difference in India & Australia. When it is evening in India, โ€œmy normal time of eating panipuri for yearsโ€, it is 11.00 pm here in Australia. No, no I did not use to go back to sleep, read on….

To satisfy this craving I use to wake up at 11.00 pm after 2 hours of sleep, rubbing my eyes, go to the kitchen, watch the videos on how to make puris, (I knew how to prepare the pani but have never made puris in my life and neither my Mom use to make them), then literally making the dough & fry puris while crying. Yes, I used to cry on not been able to eat Panipuris when I really want to & not been able to find any laariwaalas on the streets here ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

And believe me I can eat more than 50 panipuris in one go. Back in India, my every day dinner was panipuri. Ya, seriously!! ย Mom use to warn me in the afternoon to not to eat panipuri in evening & then skip dinner, it is not good for health, donโ€™t eat every day, everything should be eaten in limit but when I used to step out of home in the evening, either to go to the tailor for dresses or to buy any stationary for school or college or for any reason I just could not come back home without eating panipuri, I just cannot. It will be like I have missed a very important thing in my day. Although after looking at my lips which have turned pink due to spicy chaat, Mom used to understand that I am returning after eating panipuri & I am going to skip dinner. lol

I still recall the days after our engagement, PK & I used to talk on phone every afternoon & when he used to ask me my plans for the evening, eating panipuri was always on top of the list & PK used to get worried how he will be able to find my choice of chaat nearby his place that too in foreign country.

I am happy that the area, where we live now is near to the Indian Super market where they have panipuri stall every weekend. The guy who makes panipuri literally laughs at me when he sees me entering the supermarket every weekend. I know how embarrassing but I could not help myself ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Everyone in our friend circle (there must be at least 30 friends in our circle) knows about this craziness of mine and whether you call it co-incidence or my bad luck, every time I am standing there and gulping on the panipuris, one or other friend will come to market for Indian grocery shopping & catch us there. And believe me they have to say this sentence every time โ€œIt will be very unusual if we donโ€™t see N in the supermarket, near the stall eating panipurisโ€ whoever sees me ย will remember to spread this news to everyone, so that they can say โ€œ OH, I also saw N eating PP, Oh you also saw N, Oh you too, you too???โ€ Phew!!!

Well, so, there you go people, tandoori for PK & panipuri for me & this blog is about our lives so tandooripanipuri lfe ๐Ÿ™‚

I hope you all have a very happy weekend.ย  I hope you all enjoy, have loads of fun with family, relax & eat delicious panipuri this weekend, eat one on my behalf too, I am toh surely going to eat it and would like to eat few for you all as well, will not miss a chance ๐Ÿ˜‰

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Yet another “P” favourite & why TPPL

  1. Jazz says:

    Haha ๐Ÿ˜€ That was a good one.

    You know back in my granny’s village in Orissa, there is a known pani puri wala who charges a meager 50p per puri. We used to visit that place every year during holidays, and me and my younger sisters Guddu and Chutki saved the money we got from our elders and literally gobble the panipuris. We used to eat 100s of them. Oh god, I love them too.

    But since that was just once a year, I’m not too used to it. In hyderabad, they give some channa as stuffing instead of the aloo which we don’t prefer much. Then again in Chennai, I used like them at a roadside vendor’s at a far away place. I must try to make them sometime at home. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • tandooripanipurilife says:

      Yeah yeah.. try making at home once just buy puris from grocery shop, it is bit of hassle to make puris at home..
      One idea for you – stand near your dining table with plate in your hand and ask Ox to make them for you, you will love it even more ๐Ÿ˜‰
      I wonder if there is any difference in pani of south India and North India?? I have never traveled to southern India ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  2. chipmunk2890 says:

    me pinch u very very very hardly ๐Ÿ™‚ i am mad mad mad for this pani poori ๐Ÿ™‚ tongue drips even after my control ๐Ÿ™‚ i went to w.b for durga pooja and all day total of ten days ate only that!!!!! Chennai ppl are the miser they give 6 puri for 15 bucks!!! i wish i must live in north, one poori still cost only re.1 in west Bengal:) now my recent shop here in Chennai is closed!! but still i found a new one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! yay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • tandooripanipurilife says:

      yay.. yay.. same-pinch.. same-pinch.. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Good that you found a new shop.. How is the taste of pani there?? Do they use chickpeas or potatoes to put in puri??

      I have eaten once in Ahmedabad, they use hot hot ragda in the puri & dip it in cold water, I don’t like it ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
      I like with boiled potatoes & black chana & spicy water ๐Ÿ™‚

      I remember, they use to give 3 panipuris for 2 bucks in Surat that too 4 years ago.. now they have increased price like it’s petrol & not panipuri lol

      Well, here in Sydney they give 6 panipuris for 3.5 dollars.. still expensive no… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      • chipmunk says:

        no!!! here only potatos !!! chennai ppl wont eat anything other than potato inside it ๐Ÿ™‚ ya many place they give cold tamarind pani it wont be nice!!!!!

  3. chipmunk2890 says:

    and u got a chance to eat extra poori on our behalf as u said to include ours in your turn!!!! but wonder we cant eat 50 poori on your behalf ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Waw good to know, so if I invite you over food, its easy for me to decide what to make, I will feed you 100 panipuris ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. MomWithaDot says:

    I was always curious abt your blog name – good to know ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. clueless says:

    I chanced upon your blog recently through another blog I follow. You are such a delight! ๐Ÿ™‚ Seriously, I love the way you think and put down your thoughts.
    Hope to read more about your life here in Oz.

Have something to say?? :-)

